Lonnie Chisenhall surprised Yankees didn’t review call



CLEVELAND — Lonnie Chisenhall had a easy reply when requested if Chad Inexperienced’s pitch hit him within the backside of the sixth inning: “I’m not the umpire.”

House plate umpire Dan Iassogna stated it did hit Chisenhall’s hand — not his bat — and awarded the Indians pinch-hitter first base to load the bases. The decision modified the course of Friday’s ALDS Recreation 2, in addition to the course of the Yankees’ season, as they went on to lose 9-eight in thirteen innings.

Replays appeared to point out the pitch hit Chisenhall’s bat, and since Gary Sanchez caught the ball, Chisenhall ought to have struck out to finish the inning.

As an alternative, Francisco Lindor got here to the plate and hit a grand slam off the correct-subject foul pole to get the Indians to inside a run.

Joe Girardi opted to not problem the hit-by-pitch name, which caught even Chisenhall off guard.

“With the quantity of challenges we now have, it was shocking,” Chisenhall stated. “On the video, apparently you couldn’t inform sure or no. If it might have gotten overturned, I don’t know. I’m not the umpire.”

Neither is Sanchez, however he tried to get Girardi to problem the play.

“I simply screamed, ‘Foul!’ [to the umpire],” Sanchez stated via an interpreter. “I assumed I heard one thing. I wasn’t positive what.”
Sanchez seemed over to the dugout, however Girardi didn’t go for a evaluate.

“There was nothing that advised us that he was not hit on the pitch,’’ Girardi stated. “By the point we obtained the tremendous sluggish mo, we’re past a minute. It was method too late. They inform us we’ve the 30 seconds. They may take longer in replay. … And doubtless being a catcher, my thought is I by no means need to break a pitcher’s rhythm. That’s how I give it some thought.”

Girardi lastly eliminated Inexperienced, and David Robertson ended the inning by hanging out Jason Kipnis, however the injury had been completed.
Each Sanchez and Chisenhall famous Chisenhall didn’t react on the pitch, one other signal that the ball didn’t hit him, because it was a ninety seven-mph fastball.

“I undoubtedly heard one thing,” Sanchez stated. “I wasn’t positive if it hit the bat. I don’t assume it hit him as a result of he by no means reacted to that. He stood nonetheless there.”

“I didn’t react in any respect,” Chisenhall stated. “I’m going with what the umpire says. I felt some vibration down there in your hand and also you go right down to first base and also you let the replay maintain itself.”

On this case, although, there was no replay, and Chisenhall acknowledged the break.

“Completely,” Chisenhall…



Source link